5.3 BYLAWS OF THE FACULTY OF THURGOOD MARSHALL COLLEGE

I) MEMBERSHIP

All members of the faculty and affiliated faculty who are members of the Academic Senate are voting members of this body.

II) FUNCTION

The faculty shall be concerned with all academic programs of Thurgood Marshall College.

III) CHAIR

The Chair of the faculty (who is not the Provost) is the presiding officer of this body. The Chair is elected during the spring quarter by a majority of the faculty and serves for one year.

IV) MEETINGS

At least one meeting per month shall be called by the Chair. Meetings can also be called by the written request of five (5) members.

V) QUORUM

The presence of 20% or a minimum of ten (10) of the members shall constitute a quorum.

VI) REPORTS

At the regular meetings there shall be reports from the following individuals, committees or course groups:

- I) Provost
- 2) Dean
- 3) Science and Technology
- 4) Third World Studies
- 5) Communication
- 6) Urban Studies and Planning
- 7) Faculty Recruitment
- 8) Admissions
- 9) Other Groups

5.3 BYLAWS OF THE FACULTY OF THURGOOD MARSHALL COLLEGE

VII) COMMITTEES

The Executive Committee shall consist of the elected faculty members of the Board of Directors, the Provost and the Chair of the faculty. This committee shall have the power to appoint <u>ad hoc</u> committees, as needed, to implement the function set forth in Paragraph II.

Two students will be members of both the TMC Executive Committee and the TMC Curriculum Committee. Student members must be Marshall College students, will be selected by the Marshall students in a representative manner, will serve a one year term, and will be afforded voting privileges when such action is in compliance with Legislative Ruling 12.75 and does not involve personnel decisions. Student members may serve additional year(s) subject to reelection. [Am 10/27/09]

VIII) RULES OF ORDER

Robert's Rules of Order shall govern the transaction of business, except for modifications of these Bylaws or the Academic Plan of Thurgood Marshall College.

IX) ACADEMIC PLAN

Changes in the Academic Plan of Thurgood Marshall College must be approved by a majority of the Faculty for submission to the San Diego Division's Undergraduate Council [EC 5/25/76, Am 3/1/11].

X) AMENDMENT OF BYLAWS

These Bylaws may be amended by a twothirds majority vote of the faculty.

Generated 3/14/2025 11:09:25 AM Page #2